What did Jesus mean by “if you deny me, i will deny you before my Father. Myth 67 part 2

Image

Matthew 10:32-33

New International Version (NIV)

32 “Whoever acknowledges me before others, I will also acknowledge before my Father in heaven .33 But whoever disowns me before others, I will disown before my Father in heaven.

I am sorry I am supposed to get back to you earlier but I do hope you excuse the passing of a good friend. So here goes.

For years I have been told that if you (as a Christian) deny Jesus in public Jesus will deny us before His Father. As such when I watched shows about people who are left behind after the rapture, there could always been a possibility when people point a gun at your head and ask you to deny Jesus. “What do I say?” “What should I do?” I thought if I deny Jesus I would end in hell. So I thought why not bite the bullet. But here is an interesting scenario, what happens if the gun is pointed at my wife’s head? My son’s head? Hmm. Would Jesus understand?

Or have you been in a situation when you are still a minor living in Asia? In Asia the child’s faith is really up to the parents. I remember the day I came home after receiving Jesus. When my dad found out, I was almost disowned. So could you imagine, when I had to get baptized. I remember those days my Sunday school students were frighten to let their parents know they believed Jesus. So I am sure when some are asked, they deny Jesus. So would they go to hell?

Have you also been in a situation wherein you were lost in the wilderness? When you had disappointments with God? When you didn’t mean what you said or were not aware of what Jesus really taught? I mean only until the last 3 years, I realized what the Gospel really meant. For years I thought Christianity was obeying the 10 commandments! I lived (emphasis livED) under condemnation! I too wondered by sinning if I had ever denied him. So there is this fear of finally reaching heaven and hearing him say “I never knew you”.

Well let’s look at the passage. IN CONTEXT!

“Matthew 10

New International Version (NIV)

Jesus Sends Out the Twelve

10 Jesus called his twelve disciples to him and gave them authority to drive out impure spirits and to heal every disease and sickness.

These are the names of the twelve apostles: first, Simon (who is called Peter) and his brother Andrew; James son of Zebedee, and his brother John; Philip and Bartholomew; Thomas and Matthew the tax collector; James son of Alphaeus, and Thaddaeus; Simon the Zealot and Judas Iscariot, who betrayed him.

These twelve Jesus sent out with the following instructions: “Do not go among the Gentiles or enter any town of the Samaritans. Go rather to the lost sheep of Israel. As you go, proclaim this message: ‘The kingdom of heaven has come near.’ Heal the sick, raise the dead, cleanse those who have leprosy,[a] drive out demons. Freely you have received; freely give.”

Notice who was Jesus referring to?

He was not referring to the Gentiles. He was referring to the lost sheep of Israel. The LOST sheep. People who were not saved or saved yet!

Let’s go on.

“9 “Do not get any gold or silver or copper to take with you in your belts— 10 no bag for the journey or extra shirt or sandals or a staff, for the worker is worth his keep. 11 Whatever town or village you enter, search there for some worthy person and stay at their house until you leave. 12 As you enter the home, give it your greeting. 13 If the home is deserving, let your peace rest on it; if it is not, let your peace return to you. 14 If anyone will not welcome you or listen to your words, leave that home or town and shake the dust off your feet. 15 Truly I tell you, it will be more bearable for Sodom and Gomorrah on the day of judgment than for that town.

16 “I am sending you out like sheep among wolves. Therefore be as shrewd as snakes and as innocent as doves. 17 Be on your guard; you will be handed over to the local councils and be flogged in the synagogues18 On my account you will be brought before governors and kings as witnesses to them and to the Gentiles. 19 But when they arrest you, do not worry about what to say or how to say it. At that time you will be given what to say, 20 for it will not be you speaking, but the Spirit of your Fatherspeaking through you.”

So you see there are 2 groups of unbelievers here. One who would receive the apostles. One who don’t. Those who do not receive the apostles are called undeserving and wolves. They are people who reject the rest, and who will flogged the apostles in local councils and flogged in synagogues. These are people who reject the good news. These are people who “deny Jesus”. They reject his message and his healing and his authority.

21 “Brother will betray brother to death, and a father his child; children will rebel against their parentsand have them put to death. 22 You will be hated by everyone because of me, but the one who stands firm to the end will be saved23 When you are persecuted in one place, flee to another. Truly I tell you, you will not finish going through the towns of Israel before the Son of Man comes.

24 “The student is not above the teacher, nor a servant above his master. 25 It is enough for students to be like their teachers, and servants like their masters. If the head of the house has been called Beelzebul, how much more the members of his household!

26 So do not be afraid of them, for there is nothing concealed that will not be disclosed, or hidden that will not be made known. 27 What I tell you in the dark, speak in the daylight; what is whispered in your ear, proclaim from the roofs. 28 Do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather, be afraid of the One who can destroy both soul and body in hell29 Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground outside your Father’s care.[b] 30 And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. 31 So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.

32 “Whoever acknowledges me before others, I will also acknowledge before my Father in heaven.33 But whoever disowns me before others, I will disown before my Father in heaven.

Notice Jesus spoke about “them” and that “they” would hate the apostles?

You see dear friends, this is a  time when Jesus had yet to die and his mission here (in this context) is to reach to the lost Jews. This was Jesus’s gospel campaign so to say. It was his cry to reach the lost.

Yet Israel was the most religious country at that time, they had the temple, the Law and the scribes, Pharisees and also the priests. Yet lost? You see Jesus said “brother will rise against brother”. What does this mean?

Jesus is saying this there is now a new way to reach God. Not through the temple, nor the rules, nor the rituals, nor even the commandments. The new way is simple. Him. The commandments … they don’t make you righteous. It’s simple. Knowing the commandments do nothing for you. Obeying 9/10 commandments do nothing for you. Only when you obey 10/10 for 24 hours and without failing from the day you are born until the day you die, you are righteous.

So God made it simple, he said “look if I can find one man who could do that, I will make the whole human race righteous”. He found that man. Jesus. Just like Adam, one sin all sin. Jesus one righteous, all born in Christ in righteous. So righteousness was Jesus to give.

So when the Jews heard this, a Jew would rise against another Jew. Paul says those born under Hagar will always persecute those born under Sarah. Brothers against brothers. The Pharisees will hate the apostles. They hate them because the fisherman is righteous before God, the tax collector is righteous before God. The prostitute is righteous before God. Because after the cross, righteousness is a gift. It is not an achievement.

Paul was such a person, he rose against Jewish Christians.. until he became one. he rose against his brothers and when he was touched by the grace of God, he too was persecuted.

So who does the Father ask before He judges a person to determine who is righteous? Who gives righteousness? Its Jesus. When your righteousness is base on the law, you say I don’t need Jesus. That’s how you deny Jesus. That is also how Jesus denies you.

So Christian Jesus is not saying that to you. He is saying it to the lost, receive me and I will receive you. After you have receive him, you are one with him and he will never leave you nor forsake you. (Hebrews 13:5).

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

For those of you who are new, these series of articles are dedicated to refuting the teaching that a believer can lose its salvation. I am using a reference of 70 ways a believer can fall away from a blogger who name himself smashing idols.

(His full article is here: http://smashingidols7.wordpress.com/2011/02/12/70-ways-a-believer-can-fall-away/

Also you can follow the refutes of his 70 ways here by just click to this link:https://hischarisisenough.wordpress.com/tag/70-ways-to-lose-your-salvation/)

12 Comments

  1. I love the whole post the writer goes deep and is true many don’t see Jesus the way is should be. Praise the Lord! & thank for the feed and effort.! God bless!

      1. Hi just a reminder if anyone truly knows the Truth on here they would be careful of who they follow. The bible speaks of false prophets. Also the twelve apostles are incorrect, Paul is in place of the bad one. When your walking through Hell, I guess you really have no other options. I recently just found out that I have lost my salvation, I never knew this is even possible, yet even when spiritually attacked we still do not get forgiven for this. I would never deny my Savior, ever. Why and how do I know, because I know better. All I can say is thank you that we have Revelations to look forward to. The Judgment days that will destroy the wicked.

  2. My 16 year old grandson son whom I raised at the age of just turning 2 years old. I never had children myself, I made sure to introduce him to my Lord and Savior and had him baptize at 14 years old said to me tonight. He is tired of me always bringing up God to him when ever I feel he is going down the Wrong road!!, and that I have turned him against God. He said he believes in him and Jesus but!!! I should do not have the right to make rules Re: bed time 10 pm And using his Cell Phone after 9pm on school day and at school because his First girlfriend of One month has No bed time and No phone restrictions. Now he was not allowed to have a girlfriend until the age of 16 1/2 years old. I have been seeking the Lord since 1995 and Now 100% since 2014-15. I feel the Lord has called me into His Life. I was re baptize January 21, 2018, best day of my Life. have been living a sinful life style Humm there is just to much going on in my life, that God has asked me to obey Him and leave this lifestyle, ” which I Totally understand why ” Jesus took my place on the cross and was tortured and bleed for me too have Eternal life!! Wow, I feel so honored and Amazed that He has forgiven me and So Loves me, enough, to Die for my Sins!!. I say to Him; how can it be!!. So I MUST OBEY HIM!! and leave this Sinful marriage, honor Him and to spread The Word, that JESUS died for Our Sins in A Very tortured, inhumane death. He rose again on from the Dead on the third Day with Many Many Eye witnesses. My grandson understands but doesn’t understand why I cannot wait till he graduates in a year in a half. This is actually My First!!!Testimonial. I know it was going to be Long. I sure hope someone receives this massage!!! and let’s me know!! God Bless you and for your time🙏⚘❤

  3. You are mis reading ,He is Talking About Christians —Re Read it —– Because All Non Christians already Deny Him —- This Being Said if Someone Does this And Doesn’t Repent then God Will Deny You , So Repent

  4. And in Matthew 26:69-75, Peter denies Jesus not once, not twice, but three times. So according to Matthew 10:33, that would unarguably mean that Peter would NOT be in heaven, even though he had been saved. To reject Matthew 10:33 as being relevant in this case would be to call Jesus a liar.

    As we know, in John 21, Jesus restores Peter as one of his Apostles. And Peter spreads the Word throughout the nations until he eventually dies as a martyred Saint, showing that he had gotten back on the narrow path to eternal life. If he had died before doing so, as Judas did, he too would not have obtained eternal life.

    1. Jesus was speaking to people his generation about the destruction of Jerusalem in AD70. Gosh. Know your history.

Leave a comment