Leah was there for dramatic effect.

Image

Genesis 29:20
20 So Jacob served seven years to get Rachel, but they seemed like only a few days to him because of his love for her.

Many know the story of how Jacob got cheated by Laban. After working for 7 years he was given Leah instead of Rachel.

Genesis 29:26-27
26 Laban replied, “It is not our custom here to give the younger daughter in marriage before the older one.

Finish this daughter’s bridal week; then we will give you the younger one also, in return for another seven years of work.”

It would seem that Jacob had to fulfill a custom to marry Leah before he could Rachel. So Jacob fulfilled what was necessary to win Rachel. He worked for another 7 years.

Sometimes I wonder how Jacob felt to be cheated. Then I realized that is not the point of the story. The question we should be asking is how he felt when he was with Rachel. It was days when it was years. He was happy. He loved Rachel.

I want us to see something here.

John 21:15-17

New International Version (NIV)

15 When they had finished eating, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon son of John, do you love me more than these?”

“Yes, Lord,” he said, “you know that I love you.”

Jesus said, “Feed my lambs.”

16 Again Jesus said, “Simon son of John, do you love me?”

He answered, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love you.”

Jesus said, “Take care of my sheep.”

17 The third time he said to him, “Simon son of John, do you love me?”

Peter was hurt because Jesus asked him the third time, “Do you love me?” He said, “Lord, you know all things; you know that I love you.”

Jesus said, “Feed my sheep.”

Notice who Jesus places in priority. Lamb before sheep! The Lamb takes special place in Jesus’s  heart.

You probably wonder what has this got to do with me.

The Hebrew word for Rachel is a female lamb. He is your heavenly Jacob. You are his Rachel. He loves us even more. Jacob was married to Leah to fulfilled his vows for 7 days. Jesus was made man and was placed under the Law through his circumcision. Jacob married Rachel and became Laban’s servant for another 7 years. Jesus was nailed to the cross to discharge the Law for you and remain as a human for the res of eternity.

To Jacob is was the 14 years were like 14 days.  Peter has this to say:

2 Peter 3: 8 But do not forget this one thing, dear friends: With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day. 9 The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. Instead he is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.

I believe the Lord has to work for us and it took him a thousand years, it would just like a day. It says it was days to Jacob because he loved her. Jesus loves us. The Bible says in Song of Songs 4:9 “You have made my heart beat faster, my sister, my bride; You have made my heart beat faster with a single glance of your eyes,”

One glance. One look. His heart rate went up.

So Happy Valentine’s day. To me it is not a pagan day. Its the day the Lord fell in love with me with one look. He is my Jacob, I am his Rachel. I am the lost sheep that he carried around his shoulders.

I love the song below:

1 Comment

Leave a comment