Being angry or being veiled?


I sometimes wonder when we preach against sin with a spirit of condemnation, whether is it because we are angry with ourselves or whether we think God is angry with us. 

So often we place the image of ourselves onto who we think we should worship. 

That was Adam’s fall. When we preach this way, we are only falling further. Jesus told us that we actually have our Father’s face. 

Paul tells us we can’t see it because there is an item that is causing us to have this poor vision of ourselves. 

It is a veil called the Law. 

Jesus came to remove the veil like a husband removes his bride’s veil at a wedding. 

When that happens you see your Father’s face. God loves it when he sees his face on yours. 

May that help you live for another day. 

2 Corinthians 3:14-18

But their minds were hardened. For to this day, when they read the old covenant, that same veil remains unlifted, because only through Christ is it taken away. 

  • Yes, to this day whenever Moses is read a veil lies over their hearts. 

But when one turns to the Lord, the veil is removed. Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. 

And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. 

For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit.

18 thoughts on “Being angry or being veiled?

  1. Thank you for this post. After reading this, I have an image in my mind of Jesus lifting the veil from my face to reveal my glory. I don’t see my glory but He does. Simon, its what I needed to hear today. I had another friend who posted this on Facebook today, “He is more interested in reconnecting and recommissioning you than dealing with the history of your mess” That was a quote by Joelle Morgan which my friend heard at a conference today. I think God is trying to tell me something…whadya think?

    • Jews going back to the law after they became Christians. They stayed back in Jerusalem and did not leave as Jesus warned them. So when Titus laid siege in Jerusalem they couldn’t get out and perished when Rome destroyed Jerusalem.

      • Thank you! The part of that verse that really scared me was the part that said “it had be better for them not to have known the way of righteousness”. It’s confusing.

  2. I’m sorry I’m gonna be asking a lot of questions in the future because I’m so fed up with mixed messages in the Church. I’m just out for truth. The “last day” is what’s also confusing to me right now because if Judgement Day is over then what does “last day” mean?

    • The last days is the period when the old covenant fades away and when the new covenant fully established itself. This happened from AD30 to 70. Most of the stuff you hear about the last days in church is base on ignorance.

  3. What about 1 Corinthians 5:5 “To deliver such an one unto Satan for the destruction of the flesh, that the spirit may be saved in the day of the Lord Jesus.”?

    Corinth wasn’t in Jerusalem was it?

    • Satan there doesn’t mean the devil. It’s just a phrase for excommunication.

  4. I was asking about what Corinth has to do with the “last days / the day of Lord Jesus” if it’s not included in the Judgement of Israel. I already figured it was excommunication.

    • The reference you referred to earlier is from Peter. He was writing to the Jews. Paul was writing to the Gentiles.

  5. Is that your answer to my last question about 1 Corinthians 5:5? If the Gentiles are not included in the judgement of jerusalem then what does the man of the Corinthian church have to do with the day of lord Jesus?

  6. I see your point and I’m glad your open-minded. I also would like to what you think heaven is like in the afterlife as described in the Bible just because you seem to have a very different perspective than most preachers.

    • I see. I have no problems with that. What I am saying is “heaven and earth” is the way the Jews describe the temple. Doesn’t mean I am saying there is no celestial “heaven”.

Leave a Reply

