Winning the Crown of Life. 

  
So often we hear of Christians writing devotional notes of how to exhort themselves to be good servants so that they may receive a crown from Jesus. 

I have nothing wrong with that save that most of these notes encourage competition. What I mean is this: there is a “I am getting more rewards than you” attitude or that “my crown is bigger than you” syndrome. 

I seriously doubt these people know the spirit and the motivation behind what the apostles were writing about. 

Let me turn you to the book of Philippians. Paul said he was pressing for “the prize” and a “better resurrection”. People who are mixed believers love to use this against grace believers and say works matters and we should as such strive hard to please God. 

Some even go to the extend of saying “the size of your mansion in heaven depends on how much you do for him and mine is really big!”

These kind of teachings do not promote anything except a form of self righteousness. 

Let me show you what the “prize” and “a better resurrection” actually mean. Those verses are actuallyfound here. 

Philippians 3:11

that by any means possible I may attain the resurrection from the dead.

Philippians 3:14

I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

They are both found in the letter to the Philippians.  

Hence to find out what this means let’s read further on. 

Philippians 4:1

Therefore, my brothers, whom I love and long for, my joy and crown, stand firm thus in the Lord, my beloved.

The crown and the prize Paul speaks about are people he brought to the Lord. His flock. I want us to see Paul’s heart and motivation. It’s love for other people. He sees those who have yet to know Jesus and makes it his “prize” to win them for Jesus. 

In fact he says that he would rather forfeit his salvation so that his fellow Jews may come to Christ. 

Romans 9:3

For I could wish that I myself were accursed and cut off from Christ for the sake of my brothers, my kinsmen according to the flesh.

So you see. It’s not about getting a bigger mansion or a more glittering crown. It’s about others. That they may go in even so that we may left out. It’s about the heart of Jesus, that he may die so that others will live. 

So it’s madness to teach people that you “be faithful” so that you and you alone get the crown and the prize. 

Heaven forbid. It’s so that others win the crown of life. Others may know Jesus. Others be made the mansion for Jesus. 

1 Thessalonians 2:19

For what is our hope or joy or crown of boasting before our Lord Jesus at his coming? Is it not you?
So who is our crown of boasting, Paul asks?

It’s you. You are our crown. 

Dear friends, this is why we write so much. It’s not to promote ourselves. Not to get likes on Facebook. Not to be popular.

It’s for you. We have no greater delight in seeing all obstructions that you have from coming to Jesus and enjoying a zoe life be removed. 

That you may rest and comfort with him. Truly seeing you set free gives us joy and jubilation. 

You are our crown of life. 

From the team, Jonathan Wong, Wong Chee Kong, Jaziel Tan and myself, God bless you. 

Leave a Reply

