Wait! You are taking it unworthily!

 
 Eating the Lord’s supper un-worthily. 

Had supper with some friends just now. Spoke about the Lord’s supper. Was told that he was told to take the Lord’s supper only 3 times a year. 
He said the reason is that, it must not be taken unworthily. Especially when you have sin in your life. 
Dear friends, 
May I share with you how the Lord’s supper is taken unworthily. 
Remember there are different classes of people in the past. Masters, normal people, Servants and Slaves. The Masters would eat first, then the normal people and then so on and on. 
This is because the richer people can attend church earlier and the servants later because of their chores. 
Hence the wealthier Corinthians will eat first. The sad state of the church was that these people ate everything and left nothing for the servants to eat. 
That’s how they are “unworthily”. 
1 Corinthians 11:20-21

When you come together, it is not the Lord’s supper that you eat. For in eating, each one goes ahead with his own meal. One goes hungry, another gets drunk.
So you see one has nothing to eat. Hungry. The other drank to much. Hence drunk. 
Paul tells them to eat at home. 
1 Corinthians 11:22

What! Do you not have houses to eat and drink in? Or do you despise the church of God and humiliate those who have nothing? What shall I say to you? Shall I commend you in this? No, I will not.
Now see this. 
1 Corinthians 11:33-34

So then, my brothers, when you come together to eat, wait for one another— if anyone is hungry, let him eat at home—so that when you come together it will not be for judgment. About the other things I will give directions when I come.
He teaches the church to eat TOGETHER. 
So please understand that is how you eat “unworthily”. It’s not about sin. 
The cup is offered to the sinner for the forgiveness of sins. It makes no sense to say I am unworthy to take a cup offered for the forgiveness of my sins when I sin. All the more I have to take it. 

One thought on “Wait! You are taking it unworthily!

  1. Hi Simon! This is a great post. I particularly like the last phrase “It makes no sense to say I am unworthy to take a cup offered for the forgiveness of my sins when I sin”. So true! Partaking “unworthily” refers to the manner of partaking, not the person partaking.

Leave a Reply

