Reading your Bible from the tree of life. 

   

Matthew 17:27

However, not to give offense to them, go to the sea and cast a hook and take the first fish that comes up, and when you open its mouth you will find a shekel. Take that and give it to them for me and for yourself.”
We often miss the point when we read incidences of Jesus and the disciples. We often wonder “what lessons is there to be learned. What are the things we should do.”
I don’t like reading my Bible like that. I think if you do, you are reading from the perspective of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil. 
I rather read it from yen perspective from how Jesus reacted with the disciples. 
Here is an example. There is a miracle about Jesus paying tax through a fish. 
It had been a tiring day. Jesus knew he was going to die soon. He knew his time was short. 
He had seen Peter arguing with the temple guards. They ask Jesus for tax. The picture is simple. 
If you are a famous rabbi, you don’t have to pay the temple tax. Jesus did not need to pay tax before. Now since his popularity has winnowed, they had asked Peter to tell Jesus to pay tax. 
Hence you can understand why Peter was upset. Jesus stepped in and told Peter just get it from the fish. 
So we tell people that this is a lesson of God’s provision and maybe an object lesson of faith. 
I see it differently. Jesus just wanted to spend time with Peter. He didn’t want Peter to be distracted by what was not important. What was important was that he was about to be crucified. 
Hence. He performed a miracle. So that he could spend a meaningful evening with his best friend. 
You are important to him. Sometimes what you think is important does not matter. You matter. That’s how much you mean to him. Your time. You. You are the most important thing to Jesus. 
That’s how I chose to read my Bible. From the tree of life. Not what I have to do. But from what he did for me. 
I hope you are blessed.

2 thoughts on “Reading your Bible from the tree of life. 

  1. Sorry, I told you incorrectly, I meant to say interacted, not inter-reacted. How Jesus interacted with the disciples. Pls accept My apologies Maggie

    >

  2. Pingback: MEMBACA ALKITAB ANDA DARI PERSPEKTIF POHON | dailygracia

Leave a Reply

