How to partake in the sufferings of Jesus.

Image
 
I have heard often people say we are commanded to partake in the sufferings of Jesus to be more holy or to be closer to him. That is however but a myth. 
This is where people get the idea from. 

Philippians 3:9-10
“and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ–the righteousness that comes from God and is by faith.  I want to know Christ and the power of his resurrection and the fellowship of sharing in his sufferingsbecoming like him in his death,”

The verses do not indicate a physical suffering. If that is true, then you have die like him on the cross. It speaks an imputation of his death on us. It speaks of his death as our death. Hence to partake in sufferings, we don’t suffer the way he suffers. It means we suffered what he suffered by imputation as well. 

How did that happen? The answer lies in the previous verse. Having a righteousness that is not by law but by faith. By believing what Jesus did, he did for me. That is how his death and suffering were imputed on me. That is how I partook in his sufferings. That is how I became like him in his death. 

I became one with him in suffering and death by believing he did it for me. 

I hope you are blessed.

One thought on “How to partake in the sufferings of Jesus.

  1. Hi Simon, can you help me with regard to John Piper’s theology (he’s a Calvinist isn’t he)? He’s very much into this “Theology of Suffering” and he’s against the prosperity gospel. Now I don’t believe you or Joseph Prince preach a prosperity gospel but the grace gospel kind of includes prosperity (in the biblical sense) as part of the package ie “shalom”. Is there anywhere you’ve written in answer to this so-called “Theology of Suffering”? He’s saying that we should be prepared for a whole lot of suffering as Christians (ie going to places where we’ll get cut up and our kids killed to preach the Gospel etc) until we meet Christ again in the afterlife. I kind of find that a raw deal even though I understand the nobility of matyrdom. But what’s the appropriate reply to this line of thought?

Leave a Reply

