The Lordship of Jesus and our salvation

Image

Dear friends,

This is a follow-up note to “Jesus is Lord” note, I put up a few weeks ago. You can find it here: https://hischarisisenough.wordpress.com/2013/08/04/what-does-jesus-is-lord-actually-mean/

Its just that I discover so much more to this I just had to write a brand new piece on this subject. There are many who teach that only few make it to heaven as Lordship Salvation is crucial to admission to heaven. Don’t get me wrong. I am all for holiness and because I love Jesus I want to have a life pleasing to him. The problem at times, no matter how I hard I try, I fail. I thank God Jesus is my righteousness.

When I was young, I had a cult teacher from the Jehovah Witnesses group that told me only 144,000 people will reach heaven. She quoted this.

—Revelation 14
—14 Then I looked, and there before me was the Lamb, standing on Mount Zion, and with him 144,000 who had his name and his Father’s name written on their foreheads.
—…
—3 And they sang a new song before the throne and before the four living creatures and the elders. No one could learn the song except the 144,000 who had been redeemed from the earth.
 
She said “See only those 144,000 has their names written on their foreheads, only these are saved! We must strive to make it to this 144,000.”
 
Naturally, I was afraid.
 
Then I heard that one has to make Jesus Lord of your life before you can be saved. There is in fact 9 things you ought to know before you are saved. You can read about it here: http://www.gty.org/Resources/Articles/A114.
 
Now while I admire Mr. MacArthur’s attempt to place some seriousness into the call of Christ, I began to realize as I study my Bible the more I realized that Paul meant something else. Confessing Jesus as Lord is not making Jesus Lord. Jesus is already Lord. I didn’t make him. His Father did. I am sure glad He did. This is because the Lordship of Jesus guarantees my salvation.
 
Let’s take Romans 10:9 in context.
Image
Image

Image

Now having seen the same, you would realize Paul is not saying you have to confess with your mouth “Jesus is Lord” but he is merely contrasting the fact that its much easier to be saved than you think as compared to the Law. Check this out;

Image

As you can see, as oppose to MacArthur is teaching, Paul is saying the opposite.

It is also pertinent to note that “Jesus is Lord”is also quoted by Paul in reference to Philippians 2:

Image

As I have explained in my earlier note, this is a reference made in Isaiah:

Image

If you read the passage in Romans 10 and Philippians 2 you will see what I am trying to say:

Image

Notice the righteousness of God comes from His mouth and not the Law. You will see it clearly here:

Image

So what Paul is trying to say that his righteousness is not base on what he does but a human being by the name of Jesus. And he is Lord.

What is the big deal of his Lordship? For one, he is seated at the most powerful place ever. The right hand of God. Many teach therefore he will judge us and he will punish us. However few fail to see that the judgment seat of Christ in the Old Testament is the mercy seat in the Old Covenant.

Image

Paul tells us in Romans 3:25 that Jesus is the atonement for our sins. What we do not know, is that Paul was referring to the mercy seat when he mentioned atonement. You will see it in the footnotes in the NIV.

Image

Image

So this issue of the Mercy Seat is a big deal to my salvation. Consider the following:

a) Jesus is seated at the right hand of the Father; BUT

b) He is not there to judge me but to be an atonement for me.

c) The judgment seat is a mercy seat.

Image

Jesus is made Lord and higher than the angels in his humanity because he purged me of all my sins. This means that He is made Lord because He secured my salvation and forgiveness. He is made Lord because He purged me of my sins! What a glorious thought!

Image

Jesus’ throne is a testament of how washed I am. How clean I am. No wonder its called the throne of Grace.  O  dear friends, to all those who say only 144,000 make it I want to just tell you in context, they do not refer to Gentile believers but the gathering of the tribes of Israel:

Image

But look at this:

Image

Dear friends, look at the text, see what they are singing about the Lamb seated on the throne. Seated. Throne. The mercy seat! For our forgiveness. This means a wonderful and glorious truth. You ready for it?

Image

—“Salvation belongs to our God,
who sits on the throne,
and to the Lamb.”
 
Worthy is the Lamb!
Leave a Reply

