A man with a dying child.

Image

“Sir,” replied the official, “come with me before my child dies.”  Jesus said to him, “Go; your son will live!”

John 4:49-50

Dear friends, as we encounter the man with the ill child in Cana, the Lord showed me how he perceives problems and how we in turn should do likewise. I must say I am dumbfounded. The man an important man, a king’s official had heard about how Jesus had turned ceremonial water to wine in Cana and came to beg Jesus to heal him.

While I find it strange that Jesus had needed to be beg, Jesus nevertheless tried to put him off  and said to him ““None of you will ever believe unless you see miracles and wonders.”

I want us observe something very important here. The official said, “Come with me” then he said “before my child dies”. Jesus said, “Go” then he said “your son will live”. Dear friends, if we read this too quickly we may just missed it. The official called his son “child”, Jesus called his son “son”. Dear friends, the official had called his son an infant and he is dying. Jesus called his son “the son that will represent the line”. In other words, Jesus called his son, the son that will bring forth many sons.

While the official sees his child as an infant and dying, Jesus saw him as a grown child and bearing many other sons after him.

Eugene Peterson in the Message said, “The man believed the bare word Jesus spoke and headed home. On his way back, his servants intercepted him and announced, “Your son lives!”

Dear friends, I marveled at the way God sees our problems, while we concentrate on our shortcomings, he sees life and fruitfulness. So often I am guilty of this, whenever I see shortcomings in others, I complain and murmur.Sometimes we, who speak about grace so much, are being complaint about being ungracious. The sad thing is most of the time, such complaints against us have merits.

Like the official, we see our trials like little children who are dying We so often see the non-growth and death in others, ministry and when friends disappoint us. The Lord is different, he sees us a grown up sons full of life. Friends, how do we allow trials to affect us?

Better still…

Friends, how do we look at people who disappoint us? How do we see ourselves as being disappointed to others?

Today I chose to be like that official, to believe the bare word Jesus spoke. Towards, my family, my church, my friends and my trials, I chose to believe what God says about them. That they full of possibilities, full of life and full of hope.

Thought of the day

When Jesus fills our eyes with the possibilities, we find it easy to believe.

3 thoughts on “A man with a dying child.

  1. Are we only getting these short devotionals now? Or are we still going to get some long exegesis once in a while? Haha.

Leave a Reply

