The Wind Smiled at Me.

Image

 “How are these things possible?” Nicodemus asked. Jesus replied, “You are a respected Jewish teacher, and yet you don’t understand these things?

 JOHN 3: 9-10

I must be born again. What nonsense I thought? Are you saying that all that I have kept, all  that I have observed, all the laws, statutes, commandments have I kept since young – he told me it does not matter. What matters is to go into my mother’s womb again.

He must be a dreamer. I spoke to him about the future of our roman colonization and the future about our temple; he spoke to me about the wind. I guess his threat on destroying the temple must have been a joke. Can he be more serious?

But he asked me a question, “You are the teacher of Israel, you don’t understand these things?” For a moment, I sat and wondered, he said “you are the teacher of Israel” –you.  I sat there wondering what did he say that, “you, Nicodemus.”

The “people’s victory” that’s my name – Nico “victory” demas “people”. The young rabbi said to me “The victor of Israel is the teacher of Israel”. For weeks I wondered why did say this.

I remembered that night well, I wanted to find out what this man they called the “Messiah” is going to do for my country, my religion and for me. Is he is the one that will bring victory to the people? But as he spoke, he reminded me of my name. The victory of the people.

Then he spoke to me about the need to be born from the Spirit. As he spoke, I could feel a gush of wind pass me. I need to be born again. After his death and resurrection, my eyes were unveiled and I began to understand what he had said. He had said that true victory is not about freedom from the Romans, but freedom from the Adamic life. He was here to be born into me. He was here to bring the Spirit into me.

He allowed himself to be born into me so that I could have his life. So that his father became mine, his kingdom became mine, his freedom became mine, his victory could become mine. It was then I realized what defeated me was me, what I have achieved, who I thought I was, why I do what I do – all in order to be close to God. What he showed me was for met have victory was not for me to do. For me to be set free was the love of God, “For God so loved the world, he gave his only son.”

His beloved disciple was asked once, how do we have victory over the world? He looked at me and pointed at me, Nicodemus, the victory of the people and he said this –

“Everyone who believes that Jesus is the Christ has become a child of God. And everyone who loves the Father loves his children, too… For every child of God defeats this evil world, and we achieve this victory through our faith. And who can win this battle against the world? Only those who believe that Jesus is the Son of God.” 1 John 5:1, 4-5

Just as he did that, a gush of wind blew at our faces. I just smiled. I am Nicodemus, I have the victory. You are Nicodemus too because he is born into you too.

Thought of the day

In Christ, the victory is already yours.

Leave a Reply

