The empty jar on a hill

Image

Then, leaving her water jar, the woman went back to the town.

John 4:28

“AN EMPTY JAR. A BLAZING NOON SUN. A DREAMER AT THE WELL. GREAT ALL I WANTED WAS TO BE ALONE. “TOWN WHORE” THAT’S WHAT THEY CALLED ME. IS IT MY FAULT, THAT MY HUSBANDS LEFT ME? I AM LONELY, I AM THIRSTY, I AM ALIVE BUT DEAD. MY BODY … HIS INSTRUMENT OF SEX. ALL I WANTED WAS TO BE ALONE, NOW I HAVE THIS YOUNG RABBI TO CONTENT WITH. ALRIGHT, I’LL JUST BE RUDE.”

Dear friends, are we all not like her? Disappointed, discouraged, wanting to be alone, we are confronted by our Messiah, our Revealer, the one who knows us more that ourselves. Like her what sometimes we offer are just excuses. Here’s her’s:

Excuse No. 1

She came in the afternoon – She alienated herself from others.

The way people perceived me. They are right to condemn me.

 Excuse No. 2

You are a Jew. I am a Samaritan.

I am different from you. I am not clean enough.

Excuse No. 3

You have no bucket. The well is too deep.

My problems are too big for you. There is no more hope.

Excuse No. 4

You are not greater than Jacob, are you?

My religion has not helped.

Excuse No. 5

Give me this water.

I haven’t found what I longed for.

Excuse No. 6

I have no husband.

I don’t deserve to be loved. I am a sinner and people have only used me for sex.

Excuse No. 7

I can see that you are a prophet sir.

If you know the truth about me you will not want to be with me.

Excuse No. 8

Our fathers worship on this mountain  but you say Jerusalem is the only pace to worship –

God only loves good people and I  am not  good enough!

Excuse No. 9

I know the Revealer I coming, the One called Christ. When He comes He will reveal everything to us –

When the Revealer comes he will reveal everything about me and my shame will be showed to all.

Are these excuses familiar?

Which one’s yours?

What is Lord’s answer? What is his response?

This – simply and honestly being yourself. Being true to yourself  without any hindrance so that  your whole being (whether good or bad) worship him.  I know everything about you, everything. I just need to be who you are. I have come to reveal everything about you. I came to reveal that God can now live in you.

She left her jar of empty water. The jar was never filled. But she was. Now she ran to the people she was running away from.

Thought of the day

God looks beyond our excuses and reveals our real us through his Son.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Simon, wow! This so Awesome! Your ministering gift and anointing is increasing more and more, from glory to glory!

Leave a Reply

