Fear and trembling has nothing to do with human effort.

Image

 

Dear friends,

 

When you read the words “fear and trembling”, do not think it speaks about effort.

 

In fact it actually means there is no human effort involved. Rather it speaks about the Holy Spirit’s power.

 

1 Corinthians 2:3-4

3 I came to you in weakness and fear, and with much trembling. 4 My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power.

 

It’s not by human persuasion but by the workings of the Holy Spirit. That is how you work out your salvation. It’s not by human effort but by the power of the Holy Spirit.

 

if so, pray tell me what does Paul goes on to say all his obedience in the Law is dung and that all that counts for him, is the righteosuness that comes from faith in Jesus In the next chapter?

 

3 thoughts on “Fear and trembling has nothing to do with human effort.

  1. Hi Simon..I’m reading your post on the Philippians passage, and I see two different parts here. Paul is addressing the Philippians and telling them to continue to work out their salvation in fear and trembling; fear is a emotion (a response of sorts), and trembling is a feeling, (also a response). And secondly, as you state, Paul points out that it is the Spirit within that is the power to will and work His good purpose.

    For me, I often think and feel as if I am struggling with the power (of love and truth) of the Holy Spirit within me, as we are somehow meshed (working) together to sanctify me: Him doing the working (by BEING who He is and USING the tools of His choice, which in turn, cause a change of mind in me)…deep breath…and me, experiencing the fearing, the trembling, the loving, the laughing, the relief, the refresh-ed-ness of spirit…etc etc.

  2. Wherefore..due to the act of Christ humility of emptying himself, we in turn empty ourselves so that the Holy Spirit has His way through us

    Phl 2:12 Wherefore, my beloved, as ye have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling.

    Phl 2:13 For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure.

    Humbled by our conditioned and knowing what He did cause He loved us.

    We obey..listen..respond…which will produce a healthy respect due to knowing it is His will to work out what he began .

    This in turn should effect every decision we make in turning the reigns of our lives over to Him and should be guarded with fear and trembling as the pulls of the flesh,pride,law,and others entice us to take the reigns back of working to gain Gods love.

Leave a Reply

