Jesus is not the Rose of Sharon

Image

Song of Songs 2:1-3

New International Version (NIV)

She[a]

2 I am a rose[b] of Sharon,
a lily of the valleys.

He

2 Like a lily among thorns
is my darling among the young women.

Dear friends,

Please note Jesus is not the rose of Sharon and the lily in the valley. Roses are commonly found in the plain of Sharon and lilies are commonly found in the valley. The person saying this is a lady. She is expressing the fact that she is common. In chapter one she says that she is dark skinned and rough as she was force to work in the fields.

Song of Songs 1:5 

Dark am I, yet lovely,
daughters of Jerusalem,
dark like the tents of Kedar,
like the tent curtains of Solomon.[c]
6 Do not stare at me because I am dark,
because I am darkened by the sun.
My mother’s sons were angry with me
and made me take care of the vineyards;
my own vineyard I had to neglect.
7 Tell me, you whom I love,
where you graze your flock
and where you rest your sheep at midday.
Why should I be like a veiled woman
beside the flocks of your friends?

She is saying she is not like the rest of the ladies in her time. She says her skin is not fair, her hands are not soft they are hard because she too has to take care of the family vineyard, she is not loved by her family, she is dark. She obviously thinks herself not worthy. She does not know why he lover finds she beautiful. She is saying she is common.

She my dear friend is the church. She is us, we are the plain rose of Sharon the plain lily in the fields.

The one who sees here as the lily among thorns is Jesus. He sees us as distinguished from the crowd. He never sees us as common. He sees us as standouts. He sees us as who really are.

He calls to us like this:

“show me your face,

let me hear your voice;

for your voice is sweet,

    and your face is lovely.”

He then speaks about her perfection. Let me try to put it in today’s language…

“4 How beautiful you are, my darling!
Oh, how beautiful!
Your eyes behind your veil are doves.

(You are a sight for sore eyes)

 

Your hair is like a flock of goats
descending from the hills of Gilead.

(Your hair is like the girl’s hair in the head and shoulder’s ad)

2 Your teeth are like a flock of sheep just shorn,
coming up from the washing.

(Pure white! Think Colgate ad)
Each has its twin;
not one of them is alone.
3 Your lips are like a scarlet ribbon;
your mouth is lovely.

(Think red Angeline Jolie lips)
Your temples behind your veil
are like the halves of a pomegranate. (?)
4 Your neck is like the tower of David,
built with courses of stone[a];

(Think Audrey Hepburn’s neck in Breakfast at Tiffany’s)

 
on it hang a thousand shields,
all of them shields of warriors.
5 Your breasts are like two fawns,

(Er…. Ok, let your imagination run while!)

like twin fawns of a gazelle
that browse among the lilies.
6 Until the day breaks
and the shadows flee,
I will go to the mountain of myrrh

(She smells great)

and to the hill of incense.
7 You are altogether beautiful, my darling;
    there is no flaw in you.”

Jesus really sees no flaw in you.

In Ephesians Paul puts in the most unromantic way “that He might present her to Himself a glorious church, not having spot or wrinkle or any such thing, but that she should be holy and without blemish.” Ephesians 5:29

Solomon the poet says it like this:

Song of Songs 4:9

9 You have stolen my heart, my sister, my bride;

    you have stolen my heart

with one glance of your eyes,

with one jewel of your necklace.

My version?

Jesus fell in love with you the first time he saw you.

See the way Jesus loves you, not as common but holy. Peace.

PS. Song of Songs was my wedding verse. Guess who inspired this piece?  Give you a clue, her first name starts with an “A”….

One thought on “Jesus is not the Rose of Sharon

Leave a Reply

