What is the “armor of God?”

Image

What then is the armor of God?

Ephesians 6

11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood,but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

18 And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. 

 

For years I had thought, for me to forged myself into the battle against the Satanic Kingdom, I had to put on the armor of God. My understanding of the armor at that time was this, I had to have these qualities before the armor was fortitude in me:

a)      Truth,

b)      Righteousness,

c)       Readiness to preach the gospel;

d)      Faith,

e)      Salvation;

f)       Word of God.

So I tried to tell the truth,  be righteous, already on the look out for people to preach to, have loads of faith, and share the word. I believe if I did all these things, I would build an armor of God for myself. Have you ever been there and yet become defeated?

It was years later I found these verses:

Isaiah 11:5

New International Version (NIV)

Righteousness will be his belt
    and faithfulness the sash around his waist.

Isaiah 59:17

New International Version (NIV)

17 He put on righteousness as his breastplate,
    and the helmet of salvation on his head;
he put on the garments of vengeance
    and wrapped himself in zeal as in a cloak.

 

Isaiah 52:7

New International Version (NIV)

How beautiful on the mountains
    are the feet of those who bring good news,
who proclaim peace,
    who bring good tidings,

 

Isaiah 49:2

New International Version (NIV)

He made my mouth like a sharpened sword,
    in the shadow of his hand he hid me;
he made me into a polished arrow
    and concealed me in his quiver.

 

Dear friends,

It suddenly dawn upon me that the armor of God is not what I have to do, but the very expression of Jesus in Isaiah. In particular, his finished work. That is why Paul says stand. Stand in the finished work!

Ephesians 6:11

11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 

Hence Paul tells us that our weapons we must hold in our hands to be the righteousness of Jesus.

2 Corinthians 6:7
7 in truthful speech and in the power of God; with weapons of righteousness in the right hand and in the left;

May you know this! Your armor is Jesus’s righteousness which has been given to you as a gift!

4 thoughts on “What is the “armor of God?”

  1. Amen brother: I stand glorified in them. John 17:10. / Our feet shall stand within thy gates, O Jerusalem. (Psalms 122:2). The revelation of being in dwelt by the Triune God.

Leave a Reply

