How does one overcome the misdeeds of the flesh?

Image

Today, I had the pleasure of hearing a blessed man speaking to me about chewing the Word for your daily strength. It dawn upon me how I have forgotten to enjoy the simplicity of just “eating”. I mean, many people eat differently. Some calculate their calories, some the kind of food they eat, some refuse to eat.

To be frank, eat because you are hungry. Just eat.

So I will be writing on some these things. I realized when I finish debunking 70 ways about losing salvation, there will be another guy who will there 200 more. So it will never end. So the Christian experience is more than debunking lies but it’s about food.

So here goes.

Here is the verse for today:

Romans 8:14

New International Version (NIV)

14 For those who are led by the Spirit of God are the children of God.

“For”: What is there for? Let’s look at the previous verse.

Romans 8:13 says: if you live according to the sinful nature, you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live,

Ok there are 2 ways of living. One by the sinful nature, the other by the Spirit.

Ok… many of you say hey “I” must die to the sinful nature. Well, I am sorry you are wrong… see what it says.

“but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live,”

It says by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body. By the Spirit. By the Spirit. How do we do this?

The next verse tells us by his leading.

Dear friends,

so often we teach people to die daily towards the self as an antidote to the sinful nature. They say you take up the cross and follow Jesus. Crucify your sinful nature.

But chew the word, what does it say? By the Spirit, how by the Spirit, be led. Be led by the Spirit. When you do that the misdeeds of the body will be put to death. So you will live.

Dear friends,

Then again I have heard sermon where they teach when the Spirit leads you, “you must serve God. You must repent. You must have the attitude of a servant. You must be a servant. You must have a slave mentality. You must come to God with fear and trembling. You must come to God in awe. You must realize you are dirty before God, confess your sins before and etc. etc. etc.”

Really?

Chew on….

those who are led by the Spirit of God are the children of God.

Dear friends, where is the Spirit of God leading us to?

To a very important truth. We are (not was, not will be, but are (present tense)) the (not a, not those, but THE) children of God.

So does do you overcome death of the sinful nature by all those things which were told by others to you i.e. “you must serve God. You must repent. You must have the attitude of a servant. You must be a servant. You must have a slave mentality. You must come to God with fear and trembling. You must come to God in awe. You must realize you are dirty before God, confess your sins before and etc. etc. etc.”?

I think you would by now agree, these practices have a form of Godliness but yet denied of its power.

No dear friends,

It is not about our power. It is by the Spirit, he is the one that puts to death. He does it for us by leading us. Leading to us what? The significant fact that we ARE sons. Not slaves, not servants, not barbarians. He will never disown us, he will never leave us be. He WILL LEAD US!. He will lead us as sons!

Notice what it says in the next verse.

Romans 8:15

For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.”

See dear friends, he is called the Spirit of Sonship. He leads you as Children of the Most High!

Let’s come back to this then. How do you live? By the putting to deeds of the sinful nature? How is that done? By the Spirit. How does he do that? By His leading us? How does he lead us? By SONSHIP!

So the way to put to death the acts of the sinful nature, you must know you are a son! Not only a son but THE SON of the Most High.

See the next verse:

Romans 8:16
The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children.

I once heard a speaker in my church said “the Holy Spirit ask me to come and tell you that you are all great and dirty sinners, and is here to play church. That we need to repent and carry Jesus’s cross and be humble as servants.” She was shouting at Christians.

May I boldly say she is not led by God’s spirit.  It is when the Spirit assures you that you are His dearly beloved, that you are the child of the Most High, that you shed the deeds of the flesh, the deeds of the sinful nature.

The result is?

if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live,

YOU WILL LIVE!

Dear child of God,

May you experience the peace of the Holy Spirit to realize this wonderful truth.

My thought of the day:

Do I have a slave mentality or do I have a son mentality?

Image

4 thoughts on “How does one overcome the misdeeds of the flesh?

  1. That was awesome and really ministered LIFE to me today! I had always tripped over those verses and not understood them. Now I see that the Spirit’s revealing to me my sonship (that I am God’s child and won’t ever be forsaken by my Father) is how He leads me and puts to death the misdeeds of the body, and thus I can truly live abundantly and freely in His love! Thank you so much for sharing!
    Sparrow

  2. $They say you take up the cross and follow Jesus
    …………..

    i hear your cry brother!

    Jesus is my lamb. He was given for me.
    I will not walk to calvary and carry my own cross or follow Jesus, be nailed and be crucified.
    I will not reject what Christ has done for me, on behalf of me, as me.
    I will not insult the Spirit of Grace by replacing Jesus obedience with my obedience.

    FOR, BECAUSE, Jesus carried the cross, hanged on a tree, nailed and was crucified for me.

    $Do I have a slave mentality or do I have a son mentality?
    …………..

    what a profound question!

    no wonder why some are driven by “obedience”.

    but those who receive the abundance of Grace “shall reign in life”.
    and not “shall be reigned by death” but shall reign over death and in life!.

    sons reign. slaves obey. sons command. slaves follow.

    thank you for sharing

    – grace and peace

Leave a Reply

