70 myths about losing salvation (19): the Holy Spirit will leave you when you grieve Him.

Image

Dear friends,

I am finally doing away with the preambles. I think by now you know where the article I am refuting i.e. “70 ways of losing salvation” is located but for those who are new here it is: http://smashingidols7.wordpress.com/2011/02/12/70-ways-a-believer-can-fall-away/ 

Also you can follow the refutes by just click to this link:https://hischarisisenough.wordpress.com/tag/70-ways-to-lose-your-salvation/

 

Here’s myth 19. It may be a bit long but I believe you will be blessed by it.

Myth 19: The Holy Spirit leaves us when we grieve Him.

Smashingidols states ” We can grieve God’s spirit and cause Him to depart from us, like Samson and Saul both did (Eph 4:30; Judges 16:20; 1Sam 16:14) God never made a law for someone to break, He made them to be kept (Rom 2:13; Acts 7:53). The righteousness of God was hidden in the allegory of the law, and some men kept it, while others did not (Romans 2) Jesus said “If you love Me, KEEP MY COMMANDMENTS”, and said that IF we would, He would give us the Holy Spirit (John 14:15-18), and Peter said God gives the Holy Spirit to all who OBEY God (Acts 5:32)” You can see his arguments in the comments at this link: http://smashingidols7.wordpress.com/2012/04/30/refuting-simon-yaps-heretical-blog/#comments

Dear friends,

Let us look at 3 very interesting passages.

Ephesians 4

29 Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers.

30 And grieve not the holy Spirit of God, whereby ye are sealed unto the day of redemption.

31 Let all bitterness, and wrath, and anger, and clamour, and evil speaking, be put away from you, with all malice:

32 And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.

 

John 14

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you really know me, you will know[b] my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.”

Philip said, “Lord, show us the Father and that will be enough for us.”

Jesus answered: “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’?

 10 Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I say to you I do not speak on my own authority. Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing his work. 11 Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; or at least believe on the evidence of the works themselves. 12 Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. 13 And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it. 15 “If you love me, keep my commands16 And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another advocate to help you and be with you forever— 

17 the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be[c] in you18 I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. 19 Before long, the world will not see me anymore, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live. 20 On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you. 21 Whoever has my commands and keeps them is the one who loves me. The one who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love them and show myself to them.”

 

and

1 John 3.

19 This is how we know that we belong to the truth and how we set our hearts at rest in his presence:20 If our hearts condemn us, we know that God is greater than our hearts, and he knows everything.21 Dear friends, if our hearts do not condemn us, we have confidence before God 22 and receive from him anything we ask, because we keep his commands and do what pleases him. 23 And this is his command: to believe in the name of his Son, Jesus Christ, and to love one another as he commanded us24 The one who keeps God’s commands lives in him, and he in them. And this is how we know that he lives in us: We know it by the Spirit he gave us.

 

I think you are beginning to get the idea. Firstly, the Bible does not teach that the Holy Spirit is given to you until your next sin. It is given to you forever. John 14:16 says that:

16 And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another advocate to help you and be with you forever!

Paul also confirms that in Ephesians 4 when he says you are sealed under the day he comes.

30 And grieve not the holy Spirit of God, whereby ye are sealed unto the day of redemption.

As such smashing idols would have probably alluded the temporary residency of the Spirit to the passage in John 14, when he says that the Holy Spirit will leave if you do not obey God’s commandments. I believe here he means the 10 commandments. He says the Holy Spirit left Saul and Samson.

Dear friends, let’s ask ourselves this very important question. How can the Holy Spirit be given to you forever if it is contingent on us obeying our commandments?

The key to understanding this is to know “what are these “commands” which Jesus asked us to obey?” Are they the 10 commandments? I submit in the negative. My reasons and grounds are as follow. We must study what preceded these injunction that our Lord Jesus gave. The answer is simple, He was answering Philip’s question. Let me show you:  

Philip said, “Lord, show us the Father and that will be enough for us.”

Jesus answered: “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? 10 Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I say to you I do not speak on my own authority. Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing his work. 11 Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; or at least believe on the evidence of the works themselves. 12 Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. 13 And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it. 15 “If you love me, keep my commands

If we look at the context, you would note that these commands are:

a)      Believe in me that the Father is in me and He shall be in you;

b)      Believe in the miracles that I do; and

c)      Ask anything in my name.

John gives a similar commentary about this passage when he is much older in 1 John 3.

21 Dear friends, if our hearts do not condemn us, we have confidence before God 22 and receive from him anything we ask, because we keep his commands and do what pleases him. 23 And this is his command: to believe in the name of his Son, Jesus Christ, and to love one another as he commanded us24 The one who keeps God’s commands lives in him, and he in them. And this is how we know that he lives in us: We know it by the Spirit he gave us.

Can you see the parallels?

  1. We will receive what we ask.
  2. God lives in us and we in Him.
  3. The Spirit is given to us.

Note the command here is “to believe in the name of his Son”. Notice what did Jesus ask Philip to do? Believe, believe and ask!

So what is the commandments that Jesus ask of you to obey in order that the Spirit dwell in you forever?

to believe in the name of his Son, Jesus Christ, and to love one another as he commanded us.” This is also what Peter means by “obedience”.

Paul calls this the Law of Christ in Galatians 6 and the Law of the Spirit and of Life in  Romans 8. So there you have it, grace believers are not lawless. It’s just that they have a higher law than the 10 commandments.

One last issue, what about Saul and Samson? The answer lies in this verse in John 14:

17 the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be[c] in you.

Dear friends, the Holy Spirit could only come and go on a person before Jesus died on the cross to take away our sins and He did it once and for all. See Hebrews 10. As such before He died, the Holy Spirit could only be with us and not in us at least not forever. After Jesus died, you must understand Jesus’s offering was made through the eternal Spirit. See Hebrews 9: 14 How much more shall the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself without spot to God, purge your conscience from dead works to serve the living God?”

That is why it is the Holy Spirit of all persons in the God head that testifies to you “I remember your sins no more”.

See: Hebrews 10

15 The Holy Spirit also testifies to us about this. First he says:

16 “This is the covenant I will make with them
    after that time, says the Lord.
I will put my laws in their hearts,
    and I will write them on their minds.”[b]

17 Then he adds:

“Their sins and lawless acts
    I will remember no more.”

 

That leaves one last question. What does it means by to “grieve the Spirit”. Let’s look at Ephesians 4 where that phrase comes from:

29 Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers.

30 And grieve not the holy Spirit of God, whereby ye are sealed unto the day of redemption.

31 Let all bitterness, and wrath, and anger, and clamour, and evil speaking, be put away from you, with all malice:

32 And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.

It has to do with:

a)      Words that do not minister grace;

b)      It has to do away with evil speaking (what is “evil speaking”? );

c)      It has to do with not forgiving a person;

d)     Most important of all, it has to do with NOT knowing that God HAS ALREADY FOR JESUS’S SAKE HAS HAS HAS HAS HAS (I think you get the point) forgiven you.

At such you grieve the Holy Spirit by speaking words and messages that teach God has only partially forgive you of your sins.

In Hebrews 10 the writer says you insult the Holy Spirit by treating the blood of Jesus as blood of bulls and goats which only give you temporal and annual forgiveness.  The blood of Jesus actually took away your sins once and for all. Once and for all. It is not temporal, it is forever.

29 How much worse (sterner and heavier) punishment do you suppose he will be judged to deserve who has spurned and [thus] trampled underfoot the Son of God, and who has considered the covenant blood by which he was consecrated common and unhallowed, thus profaning it and insulting and outraging the [Holy] Spirit [Who imparts] grace (the unmerited favor and blessing of God)?

That is how you grieve the Spirit. He tells you your sins are remembered no more. You tell Him that He is the person who tells you that you are doomed if you sin and that He will leave you when you do. That, my friend is complete nonsense.

Please read this very important article about the complete forgiveness you have in Christ: https://hischarisisenough.wordpress.com/2012/02/18/i-read-an-artic/

Shalom!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Eugene says:

    This settles many a false teachings about the Jesus commandments and the position occupied by God, The Holy Spirit…Thanks Simon and God bless

  2. Tonia says:

    What if i am that person? I believed since i was 5 years old and then I went back into sin after a divorce for 4 years. Completely ignored my walk with Christ. After which time I returned. However, this past Palm Sunday, I began to think about all I had done even though I knew better. I felt such shame about having done that after what Jesus had done for me. I decided I hadnt really accepted Christ. I raised my hand on the altar call. That night I awoke and prayed to be guided to some scripture to read. I read Proverbs 1 and felt frightened that I was that person who didnt listen to wisdom. So i prayed some more, silently, and was led to Hebrews 6:4-6. I became very frightened that I had ruined my faith. Since then I battle unbelief. I read your blogs and I have greived the Holy Spirit in that I didnt count the blood of Jesus as Holy by asking to be saved as if His blood had not already covered all my sins. Now I feel anxiety day and night and do not have peace any longer. I pray for Gods forgiveness for having unbelief and I am stuck in this place. I fear I have lost all chances.

    1. Simon Yap says:

      Tonia, hebrews 6 is not about believers. Its about the Jews who were at the desert. The minute you believe you were crucified with him. He is never separated from you.

    2. Simon Yap says:

      God only forgives you once.

Leave a Reply

