What does “living for God” mean?

Image

Galatians 2:20

Darby Translation (DARBY)

 20I am crucified with Christ, and no longer live, *I*, but Christ lives in me; but [in] that I now live in flesh, I live by faith, the [faith] of the Son of God, who has loved me and given himself for me.

 

People often quote Galatians 2:20 and say that to be crucified with Jesus means to die daily and subject yourself to obey of all God’s commandments. That is how you live to God, they say. That is misconcived. Before Galatians 2:20, there is verse 19. Paul actually tells you, how to live to God. 

Galatians 2:19
19 Because of the law, I died as far as the law is concerned. I died so that I might live for God.

See Darby’s translation “19For *I*, through law, have died to law, that I may live to God.”

Note. The way to live for God is to die to the Law

Trying to be righteous by dying to your self and observing the law is NOT living for God. If that is so Paul would not say in v 21:

Galatians 2:21
21 I do not get rid of the grace of God. What if a person could become right with God by obeying the law? Then Christ died for nothing!

The truth is this. You are already dead when Christ died on the cross. 

Romans 6:5
5 By being baptized, we have been joined with him in his death. We will certainly also be joined with him in his resurrection.

And when a person dies:

Romans 7:1
Don ‘t you know that the law has authority over us only as long as we are alive?

See now

Romans 7:4
4 My brothers and sisters, when Christ died you also died as far as the law is concerned. Then it became possible for you to belong to him. He was raised from the dead. Now our lives can be useful to God.

You live for God when you live according to faith. Not the Law of Moses. You live for God by grace. 

In the Darby translation, it says this life is not to be lived in accordance to our faith but his faith. ” I live by faith, the [faith] of the Son of God.” That is why it has to be by grace. There is no human effort involved. Its all God and none of me. 

Selah.

2 thoughts on “What does “living for God” mean?

Leave a Reply

