The Son of Man has no place to rest His head

Image

In the past when I read the verse “The Son of Man has no place to rest his head, when foxes have holes and birds have nest”, I would think that Jesus was a poor man who had no home. Today I discovered he was quoting Isaiah 62: 6-7

 

“I have set watchmen upon your walls, O Jerusalem, who will never hold their peace day or night; you who [are His servants and by your prayers] put the Lord in remembrance [of His promises], keep not silence, And give Him no rest until He establishes Jerusalem and makes her a praise in the earth.”

 

In this context the establishment of Jerusalem refers to a righteousness that is unwavering. See verse 1 “For Zion’s sake I will not hold My peace,

And for Jerusalem’s sake I will not rest,

Until her righteousness goes forth as brightness,

And her salvation as a lamp that burns.”

 

He cannot rest until he establishes a righteousness that burns with brightness. FOR YOU.

 

The Bible tells us Jesus finally found His rest after He said “it is finished”. See John 19:30 “When he had received the drink, Jesus said, “It is finished.” With that, he bowed his head and gave up his spirit.” The word “bow” is the Greek is the same word “rest”.

 

He finally rested on the cross. Isaiah 62 tells us that God is relentless is His pursuit of our righteousness. It basically means God is interested in working for your righteousness and He will not rest until He finds it for you.

 

Our Lord Jesus finally did it. On the cross. He finally rested His head. He became you and you became Him. He became Sin. You became the righteousness of God. 2 Corinthians 5:21.

 

Jesus is now seated. He no longer stands. The work is done. He is now at rest.

 

Let’s bow down and worship.

8 thoughts on “The Son of Man has no place to rest His head

  1. Thank you, His images will always reflect in those who do His will. God bless you 🙂 yahwel.com

  2. Pingback: Jesus and a Cardboard Box « Without Abandon

  3. On the subject of grace vs. works: 30 years ago I accepted the Gospel of Grace (unmerited favor). To my recollection, I didn’t make any “deal” with God like I would stop sinning, etc. I recall just wanting and needing the Grace that He offers. But, after that, right away, as I started reading the Bible I noticed lots of verses that seemed to suggest a works element to salvation. These troubled me. But, I didn’t find much help with noodling this matter out. Preachers didn’t have resolutions that satisfied me. I really worked throught this issue alone. Today I largely understand the issue at hand and the positions of those on either side of the issue. But, I want to start a relationship and an email or cell phone dialogue with someone who(1) takes more of the works viewpoint (Lordship salvation, the necessity of repentance as in turning away from sin, etc.) (2) is very smart, analytical and (3) is honest about facing these complexities rather than taking the simplistic position that anyone who doesn’t think like they do is ignoring obvious error. My strong interest is to ask questions of this person like these: To me, the behavior standards of God are unattainable. So, how do you (the person who thinks works play a part in salvation) ever know that you are saved? How do you know where to draw the line between sin committed that will threaten salvation and that which won’t? A good example is adultery. By Jesus definition, we are all guilty of adultery and fornication I believe. I’m interested in learning how a works-oriented person handles question like this one and others. If you (reading this) know anyone who fits this profile, please email their name/contact info to rickdavis@ccgvp.com/

  4. Pingback: TETAPI ANAK MANUSIA TIDAK MEMPUNYAI TEMPAT UNTUK MELETAKKAN KEPALANYA | Nugraha Suprana Ministry

  5. Pingback: MENGUSIR MENTALITAS ‘MISKIN’ | dailygracia

  6. Pingback: TETAPI ANAK MANUSIA TIDAK MEMPUNYAI TEMPAT UNTUK | dailygracia

Leave a Reply

