Reply to the question: How can you say you love God and yet say the law is abolished?

The teaching that obedience does not come from the law simply means that obeying God and the law is 2 different things. You must understand that Jesus when on the Mount of Olives was explaining to the Pharisees and the people that the Pharisees have watered down the law. Hence he would always makes statements such as “you heard it was said” and then he would say “I now tell you”. The Pharisees had made the law keepable. Jesus made it unkeepable.

The only way for the law to be fulfilled was that only Jesus can fulfilled it that is by dying on the cross. Did you realize the minute he came down from that message he healed a leper who broke the law? No. 1 The leper is not supposed to be in public, NO. 2 The leper is not supposed to be in the presence of a Rabbi, No. 3 The Leper is supposed to shout “unclean” , No. 4 He is not supposed to allow Jesus to touch him. Yet despite him breaking the law Jesus healed him. What message did Jesus send out when Jesus did that?

Obeying the law is not obeying Christ. The law says do not commit adultery. The law does not say love your wife. Christ say that we are to love our wives as JESUS loved the church. It is completely different from NOT committing adultery. Do you love Jesus? Do you know it is different from “You shall have no other Gods”? I love Jesus because God has placed his nature, the Holy Spirit in me. I do not love him because I am commanded to obey.

Lastly how can I have faith in Jesus if my Christian life is base on my obedience to the commandments? If so I do not need faith. All I need is my performance. Let me very blunt bro, you cannot love God or have faith in Him if your life is base on a performance based religion. You don’t need faith. Romans 4:14 “If God’s promise is only for those who obey the law, then faith is not necessary and the promise is pointless.”

Yes bro I do love God it is because He loves me first (1 John 4:19). yes I have faith in Jesus because it is a gift not something I exchange or earn by obedience (Ephesians 2:8: “For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the GIFT of God”.)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Anthony B. says:

    Very Encouraging, Thanks & God Bless!

  2. david says:

    i like how Jesus healed the leper who BROKE da Law simple! really He made a statement by that move. glory to God.

Leave a Reply

