The right way to fear God.

How to truly fear God!
Psalm 130:4 (New International Version)
4 But with you there is forgiveness; therefore you are feared.

I have always come across may who claim that by telling other people God is most ready to forgive your sins will make people take God for granted. I wonder have you been accused of the same thing? For me I humbly beg to differ.
It was John Newton who said this:
“Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now am found,
Was blind, but now I see.
T’was Grace that taught my heart to fear.
And Grace, my fears relieved.
How precious did that Grace appear
The hour I first believed.”

“It was GRACE that taught me to fear! It was GRACE my fears relieved!” The kind of fear God wants is for us to be in reverence and worship. The kind of fear that God wants to get rid of is fear that keeps us from being intimate with Him. It is not that kind of fear that speaks about condemnation or punishment or even judgment. This is because God has punished us in His Son.

It is this kind of understanding that God would punish His own Son in order to purchase our forgiveness that makes me bow my knees in awe and wonder. It is through this sacrifice we learn what an awesome God He is.

David says this in Psalm 130: 3,4
3 If you, O LORD, kept a record of sins,
O Lord, who could stand?
4 But with you there is forgiveness; therefore you are feared.

People don’t fear God because you scare them with the fear of the Lord. People fear God because He forgave their sins.

Thought of the Day

T’was Grace that taught my heart to fear. And Grace, my fears relieved.

